The Game Awards 2018 - Nominations and background info

The Game Awards 2018 - Nominierungen und Hintergrundinfos
Games 28.11.2018

More and more people play games. Whether on a PC with the best graphics card in the world, or a console or a mobile phone. Games like Red Dead Redemption 2 tell their epic stories that are worthy of Hollywood, while phenomena like Pokémon GO and Fortnite bring the whole world under their spell.

Games are thus more and more mainstream. What is still missing, however, is the "Oscars for video games". A prize crowning the best games of the year and bringing the previously unknown developers into the limelight. That is the objective of the Games Awards.

With the 2018 awards fast approaching, we give you some background information and tell you about a few of the current nominations.


What are the Game Awards?

The Game Awards are an annual prize ceremony of the video games industry, streamed over the internet. Outstanding games are chosen in several categories. On 7 December at 2.30am CET, prizes will be awarded in 30 categories.

The man who is primarily responsible for the awards is the Canadian video games journalist Geoff Keighley. He has made a name for himself in recent years with his detailed documentation of games such as Portal 2 and is respected by developers, publishers and gamers.

Keighley wanted to establish his own version of the Oscars for games, and the first Game Awards ceremony was held in 2014 as a result. The experiment was a success. Four years later, the show has become much bigger and the number of viewers online has exploded.


Who has been nominated?

For Game of The Year, the most important award of the year, Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (Ubisoft), Celeste (Matt Makes Games), God of War (SIE Santa Monica Studio/Sony Interactive Entertainment), Marvel's Spider-Man (Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive Entertainment), Monster Hunter: World (Capcom) and Red Dead Redemption 2 (Rockstar Games) have been nominated.

The award for Best Ongoing Game is particularly exciting. The nominations here are Destiny 2: Forsaken (Bungie/Activision), Fortnite (Epic Games), No Man’s Sky (Hello Games), Overwatch (Blizzard Entertainment) and Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege (Ubisoft Montreal/Ubisoft). This is for a game that has added content regularly during 2018 and thereby kept players interested throughout the year.


eSports categories

The Game Awards this year have focused in particular on eSports. There are eight categories in this sector. These include Best eSports Game, Best eSports Player, Best eSports Team and Best eSports Event.

The nominations for the Best eSports Game category are the classics Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (Valve Corporation), Dota 2 (Valve Corporation), Fortnite (Epic Games), League of Legends (Riot Games) and Overwatch (Blizzard Entertainment).

The following professional gamers are in the running for Best eSports Player: Dominique "SonicFox" McLean (Echo Fox), Hajime "Tokido" Taniguchi (Echo Fox), Jian "Uzi" Zi-Hao (Royal Never Give Up), Oleksandr "s1mple" Kostyliev (Natus Vincere) and Sung-hygeon "JJoNak" Bang (New York Excelsior).

For Best Esports Team, the contestants are Astralis (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive), Cloud9 (League of Legends), Fnatic (League of Legends), London Spitfire (Overwatch) and OG (Dota 2).

How is the voting conducted?

The nominations were decided by the votes of a jury of 69 international media companies (GamePro, GameStar and PCGames represented Germany).

The prizes themselves, however, were also influenced by votes of the general public. In the end, the total number of points is made up of 10% from the public and 90% from the jury. For the eSports categories, a specially selected expert jury of representatives of eSports media made the decisions.

Anyone who would like to vote themselves can do so directly on the Game Awards page. Just follow this link and vote.


Many world premières and deals.

It all sounds very reminiscent of the Oscars, red carpet included. But there are two big differences. The show is not only about prize awards, as there are also world premières.

Many games have enjoyed being played and trailed at the event. This included "The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild”, “Death Stranding”, “Bayonetta 3”, “Fortnite”, “Metro Exodus”, “The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt” and many more. What new games and trailers will be revealed in 2018? At the same time, it is worth taking a look at the game stores like the Playstation Store and Steam. A number of deals for the winning games are offered here after the ceremony. Vote, thrill to the suspense, follow the awards as they are presented, let yourself be surprised by the announcement and then save money at the end. That is the Game Awards.


Now find a paysafecard sales outlet

Anyone who wants to secure the best deals after the Game Awards can do so easily and prepaid with paysafecard - without a bank account or credit card You can find an overview of all the partner shops here. You can find the nearest paysafecard sales outlet here.